New Music Roundup: February 2018 New Music Roundup: February 2018
February kicked off with as many big returns and killer releases as January! Here’s a few of our favorites from February. WELLES – Seventeen (300... New Music Roundup: February 2018

February kicked off with as many big returns and killer releases as January! Here’s a few of our favorites from February.

WELLES – Seventeen (300 Entertainment)

Ozark native Jeh-sea Wells might just be Arkansas’s best kept secret. After relocating from Fayetteville to Nashville, Jeh-sea formed the band Welles and released the excellent Codeine EP in early 2017. The Band toured endlessly with sets at SXSW, Governor’s Ball, a Consequence Of Sound approved Bonnaroo appearance and even an appearance on NBC’s Last Call with Carson Daly during a recent run of dates opening for Royal Blood and Greta Van Fleet.

2018 is looking just as busy for the Fayetteville expatriate, and what better way to celebrate a European tour with Highly Suspect than with a new single? Seventeen marks the first new release since last years Codeine EP and it does not disappoint.

Holy Smokes! – Framework (Indie Release)

Fort Smith’s Holy Smokes! have been kicking around the DIY punk rock scene since 2013 and building a reputation as one of the most powerful live acts in the state. It’s been over a full year since the band released the critically acclaimed SCORCHED, and now the band returns with their latest release of radio ready punk anthems.

Ashley McBryde – American Scandal (Warner Music Nashville)

Fresh off her national Television debut on Late Night With Seth Myers, Ashley McBryde, is the latest Arkansas artist to find national recognition. McBryde recently signed with Warner Music Nashville and is set to release her major label debut Girl Going Nowhere on March 30th.

Elephantom – Sunbeams and Daydreams (Indie Release)

Following a batch of singles throughout 2017, Fayetteville’s heir to the Arkansas indie throne, Elephantom, returns with the stellar Sunbeams and Daydreams. 9 tracks of psychedelic dream pop ripped straight from the Big Star and Teenage Fanclub playbooks.

Ghost Bones – Sticky Willow (Indie Release)

Hot Spring’s Post-punkers, Ghost Bones, are set to release their debut full-length album, Lipshifter, on March 16th. With a stellar live show and that irresistible  gothic charm, the band has found themselves as one of the hottest acts around and certainly hold claim to one of the most anticipated albums of 2018. Lipshifter is available for pre-order on itunes.

Collin Vs. Adam – Grace Under Pressure (Indie Release)

Collin Vs. Adam return with the third single from their upcoming as-yet-untitled album. Grace Under Pressure continues the bands path towards The Cure’s Disintegration-era indie pop. Irresistible hooks with plenty of mainstream appeal makes for one of the most anticipated full-lengths on the horizon.

Bonnie Montgomery – Forever (Bonnie Montgomery Music)

Bonnie Montgomery returns with her second full-length album, Forever. Released on February 16th, Forever finds Montgomery remaining faithful to the sounds of traditional country and classic storytelling. Inspired by Willie Nelson’s Phases and Stages, The album revolves on themes of loss, life on the road, and the magic of West Texas. Forever was recorded in Austin, Texas, at Dale Watson’s Ameripolitan Studios.”

The Blacklisted – LOST EP (Indie Release)

Northwest Arkansas rockers, The Blacklisted, make their recording debut with the 90’s inspired LOST EP. Formed in 2014, the band has built a steady following the last few years gigging around Northwest Arkansas including a big win at the 2015 Bella Vista Hay Days Battle of the Bands.

Robert Locke

Robert co-founded FayetteSound in 2016 and ShindigMusic! in the summer of 2017. He is a singer-songwriter/musician from the Arkansas delta, avid vinyl collector, aquarium aficionado and connoisseur of all things rock 'n' roll. He currently is lead vocalist for Los Angeles based band Farmikos and co-conspirator at The Record Exchange. "Do You Remember Laughter?"